top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRay Khan

An Introspective 2 weeks

Over these last two weeks, I’ve had the opportunity to complete an array of Writing 39A assignments and engage with a variety of texts, videos, images, and people. While the course is intensive and rigorous, it allows me to develop into a more insightful writer and individual through the reflection of my experiences, relationships, and morals, as well as the introduction to social and global concepts. Specifically, “the Me in Six Words'' assignment provided the chance to define myself in terms of my core values and interests; a task that may initially come off as straightforward and simple, but in fact, requires a great deal of thought and analysis as to project that authentic image of myself with such minimal expression. I chose “family” as my first word because of their influence on my personality, habits, and passions. “Thrills” came second with my drive for adrenaline, in which I discussed my interests in skydiving, roller coasters, and cliff jumping. I feel like the synthesis of my chosen words effectively represents the essence of my identity and disposition. The assignment compellingly connects with the course objectives, such as “understand[ing] the importance of reflection as part of the learning process,” and “improv[ing] in the habits of mind.” The “Me in Six Words” assignment emphasized the habits of creativity, as to artistically express one’s characteristics, and metacognition, for the reflection on one’s thoughts and behavior. Moreover, the aspect of peer reviewing and commenting facilitates communication and interaction within our asynchronous class, promoting social connections during this difficult time. It can relate to the course objectives of “practic[ing] collaboration,” and “understand[ing] the importance of peer-review,” as we discuss our similarities and common interests in the comment section. To demonstrate my learning, I’ve included the following excerpt from the memoir component of the assignment where I recount and reflect on my skydiving experience.

"I had always wanted to go skydiving since childhood, but I was underage until last May, when I turned 18. My parents were completely against me going and denied me permission. Nevertheless, I still purchased my reservation at Skydive Perris in SoCal, and broke the news to my parents the following day. I experienced a wrath I had never seen before, but at the end of the day, my parents approved and watched me board the plane. I expected myself to feel nervous as the plane gained altitude, but I was filled with serenity and peace."




10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 ความคิดเห็น


Wanyi Shi
Wanyi Shi
28 ม.ค. 2564

Hi, Ray. “the Me in Six Words'' assignment also helps me to improve my creativity. I took time to take about how to integrate the words and pictures in each slides.

ถูกใจ
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page