top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRay Khan

EXTRA CREDIT: Farewell Responses

Hi Jiayi! I relate to how taking the course helped develop your understanding of social constructions. I also feel like I’ve gained a much deeper understanding of gender roles and public pedagogy through this class. I appreciate your honesty with your difficulty to express your thoughts in English, but you’re doing very well and making progress. I had a great time working with you, and I hope to see you in Writing 39B or 39C!


What’s up Tay! I’m glad that the podcast project and peer-reviewing allowed you to work on leadership skills. I’ve really improved my collaboration skills as well. The Connect grammar practice sessions were quite tricky, and I understand the desire to further improve in that aspect, as I’m working to do that too. Good work and I hope to see you soon!


Hi Yinda! I’m glad that this course helped with gaining close-reading and annotation skills. Recording specific scenes from videos and films was a new experience for me, as well, but it’s great to develop that keen eye. And since I was with you in the podcast assignment, I agree with your observation of the lack of communication between our team that resulted in a prolonged recording session. Through addressing our areas of improvement, we can work to get better. It’s been a pleasure working with you and I wish you the best!


Hi Jianna! I totally understand that initial feeling of shyness when it comes to group work because I experience it a lot. I’m proud how we both opened up and provided our insights to our respective groups for success in the podcast project and other collaborative assignments. Time management is a skill that comes with practice and I’m also working on it. I’d recommend setting a timer to reduce procrastination. Good luck!


Hi Emmanuel! It’s quite interesting to see Disney’s influence on our society. I wasn’t really aware of how powerful the corporation actually is, and how it shapes our understanding of social constructions. Even though we didn’t formally meet or talk, I got to read and review some of your responses and you’re a great writer. I hope we have Writing 39B or 39C together. Keep up the good work!


Hi Xiefeng! The podcast project was a transformational experience for many, and I am delighted to know that it helped you with collaboration and group work skills. I also learned a lot about teamwork, communication, and flexibility through the project. I’ve reviewed some of your exploratory writings, and I definitely see growth over the last ten weeks. You may be unsatisfied with it, but improvement takes time and I hope you reach the level of success that you desire. I wish you the best of luck!


I’ve learned that working in an online classroom setting takes patience, intuition, and communication. Due to the asynchronous nature of the course, I had to learn how to use various platforms that I wasn’t familiar with before the course, including Wix and Zoom recordings. I’d often experience technical difficulties with formatting and creating, which required problem-solving and troubleshooting skills, and I had to combine my efforts with technical support from my classmates. Successful collaboration with others required flexibility in schedule, as I was in a different time zone as my team. I’d have to support my teammates whenever they were struggling with a component of the podcast project, such as recording, where we’d have to do multiple takes, which required consideration. Effective communication was definitely a necessity for success in the group assignments, especially the podcast, where we needed to create a cohesive script and plan our ideas. Our team struggled with clear communication which led to copious amounts of time spent in brainstorming and recording. The podcast project was a learning experience that helped my team understand the importance of effective communication in the online setting. Overall, the course experience helped me reach many of the objectives, such as gaining a sense of responsibility, establishing effective writing habits, and developing effective means of communication among my classmates.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page