top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRay Khan

Habits of Mind Reflection

Curiosity

I’ve never really had the opportunity and time to watch and really engage with classic Disney movies, but the Beauty and the Beast assignment provided an interesting first time exposure to the Disney world, where I could understand and analyze the characters. For many years, I’ve been intrigued and curious about the Beauty and the Beast’s plot, and this course has further stimulated my curiosity for more Disney movies.


Openness

I’m somewhat of a reserved person, but moving on campus this quarter has helped me with socialization and becoming more extroverted. Through writing peer-reviews, comments, and meeting my podcast team, I’ve enhanced my levels of openness to engaging with new people and establishing social connections.


Engagement

For me, Writing 39A has been an intensive and vigorous course that requires dedication and hard work for success. Specifically, the exploratory writings demand focus, analysis, and engagement of the material to fully reap the benefits of the assignments.


Creativity

When it comes to selecting images, such as in Week 2’s exploratory writing and even the blog assignments, I feel that it involves an aspect of creativity and expression, as to convey an image that effectively reflects and embodies the writing.


Persistence

While the exploratory writing assignments are quite time-consuming, qualities like perseverance and tenacity shine through as I passionately devout my energy to a deeper understanding of the material and academic success. For the shorter, 15 to 40 minute grammar practices, I retain that work ethic.


Flexibility

This past weekend, my grandmother was hospitalized and I had to spend time with family during the emergency. I was unable to finish my assignments during the weekend, so I requested an extension from Dr. Haas, who showed her support and accommodation. I also had to change my schedule for Monday and Tuesday to be able to complete the due assignments and work from other classes.


Responsibility

I hold myself accountable for each of the deadlines in the course. I effectively estimate the amount of time required for each assignment and schedule it in for my daily plan, so that I can accomplish my goals and targets of the day.


Metacognition

Currently, I am practicing the skill of metacognition through reflecting on my thought processes and habits over the past few weeks. The weekly blog assignments involve evaluations of my progress and development through this course as a reader, writer, and individual.



16 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 commentaires


Baiyu Wang
Baiyu Wang
01 févr. 2021

I have the same feeling with you on creativity. By providing relevant pictures, it really helps us to reflect and summarize.

J'aime

tianaig
01 févr. 2021

Hi Ray

I agree with you on Curiosity. This course really gives me a chance to explore more. I've never watched Star War before. But this week I watched one and had some new thoughts on American movies. This course inspired me to meet the US culture and think over social issues through movies.

Tianai

J'aime

Tayven Auron Taylor
Tayven Auron Taylor
31 janv. 2021

Hey Ray Khan, How have you been? I remember meeting you at AntEatery lol. I really like your explanations for each word. You dove deep into the topics and used great examples. I like the example where you mention your grandmother. My explanation for openness is similar as I mentioned peer-reviews and being open to feedback. Great post Ray Khan. Hopefully we can meet up again soon.

J'aime
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page